Best Sports Manga?

large

Sports is a genre that I don’t really dive into often. I guess you could just say it isn’t my cup of tea. But with the current manga I’m reading falling under the sports category, I decided why not create a post on it? I’d like to talk about some of my favorite sports manga as well as some I plan to read in the near future.

prince-of-tennis-ryoma-vs-tokugawa-1

Prince of Tennis/New Prince of Tennis: 

http://kissmanga.com/Manga/Prince-of-Tennis

http://kissmanga.com/Manga/New-Prince-of-Tennis

This series was probably the first sports anything I watched. I started off by watching the anime a couple of years ago, then over winter break this year I read it and its sequel New Prince of Tennis. This story features our cocky main character, Echizen, and his team Seigaku. After watching and reading this I have a strange desire to play tennis, even though I know I’ll suck.  Rating 10/10

b3sfp

One Outs: http://kissmanga.com/Manga/One-Outs

This is the series that I am currently reading and it is incredible! More than just involving baseball, it is a very psychological manga involving lots of strategy and thinking. At first I wasn’t very attracted to this series, because it involves baseball (which I don’t understand) but this series is able to simplify baseball enough for a beginner like me to understand. Rating 11/10 yes, I love it that much.

tumblr_o7tdjswtk81tmvxxdo1_500

Slam Dunk: http://kissmanga.com/Manga/Slam-Dunk

I don’t have much to say about this manga, because as well as only seeing the anime it has been about five years since I saw it. All I can speak of for this manga is being surprised when I actually enjoyed it! (My brother had forced me to watch it with him). I loved watching Sakuragi’s original reason for joining the basketball team change into a genuine love for the sport. Rating 8.5/10

tumblr_nsymfypdps1tjqya6o1_500Namaikizakari: http://kissmanga.com/Manga/Namaikizakari

Not as well-known as the others for being a sports series, but certainly shows the characters love for basketball. In addition to basketball it also focuses heavily on romance. And rather than having one of those typical idiotic female characters, we get Yuki who is strong and hardworking. Rating 9/10

Sports manga that have been all the rave and I plan to read:

tumblr_nd3i1dftqi1tdnwpwo1_500Haikyuu!!: http://kissmanga.com/Manga/Haikyuu

Hinata Shouyou, upon seeing a volleyball match, is aiming to become “The Small Giant”, and joins his middle school volleyball club. After finding new members, they set out for the middle school tournament, where they’ve cross paths with a formidable school with the “King of the Upper Court”, Kageyama Tobio. Although their team lost, Shouyou is still determined to aim for the top and exact revenge on Kageyama. Upon entering high school, he recieved the biggest surprise–he and Kageyama are on the same school and club!

realv2

Real: http://kissmanga.com/Manga/Real

The story revolves around three teenagers: Nomiya Tomomi, a high school dropout; Togawa Kiyoharu, an ex-sprinter who now plays wheelchair basketball; and Takahashi Hisanobu, a popular leader of the high school’s basketball team who now finds himself a paraplegic after an accident.
Real features a cast of characters who find themselves being marginalized by society, but are all united by one common feature: a desire to play basketball, with no place to play it in. Nomiya, being a high school dropout, has no future in his life. Togawa, being a difficult personality, finds himself constantly feuding with his own teammates. Takahashi, once a popular team leader, now finds himself being unable to move from the chest down.
Real also deals with the reality of physical disabilities, and the psychological inferiority that the characters struggle against. The characters break through their own psychological barriers bit by bit.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Best Sports Manga?

      • Venus-Army11 says:

        Prince of Tennis is still an ongoing work. You might want to catch up and see where on Earth has Takeshi Konomi brought the gang. It’s hilarious. As to Slamdunk, yup. I’m a true-blood fan as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • mangaotakuu says:

        Yeah I’m actually caught up with Prince of Tennis/New Prince of Tennis and I feel like it’s taken an interesting direction. Definitely wouldn’t have predicted for it to be this way when I first watched the anime! I just wish it would update faster, I need to know what happens:)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. NEETaku says:

    Prince of Tennis actually good me into the sport IRL. I’m totally serious. Never card for the sport until I read that manga.

    The best sports manga I’ve read is Hajime no Ippo. If you ever have time, you’ve got to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

